top of page

Cocoa Cafe Sensory Table


This has been my class' favorite sensory table so far this year! They loved it so much and were engaged with it for weeks! I set it out before Christmas but ended up leaving it throughout most of January as well because they just couldn't get enough. I LOVE integrating math and reading skills into my sensory tables because they are high traffic, high interest areas that I want to make as RICH as possible!

So what's in it? I used a mix of split peas, pinto beans, and rice that I had used for a different sensory table as the "cocoa." I added white craft puff balls for marshmallows. I bought some plastic candy cane ornaments and these absolutely adorable fake candy craft accents. I also put some coffee cups, spoons, and a little pitcher I had in the sensory table.

I used this cocoa orders book to encourage my students to count out different quantities and to practice identifying numbers.

They could also take their friends' orders with these order forms on a clipboard giving them some sneaky practice with writing numbers!

I added these word wall cards to the bulletin board that my students are looking toward as they're playing. They can use these words when they are writing on their order forms or they can notice and talk about the letters they see as they are playing with their friends.

If you would like to use the printables I used, you can grab them here!

Looking for more sensory table inspiration? Check out these other ideas! Just click the picture to learn more!

If you want to save these ideas, just pin this picture!


8 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page