top of page

12 Tips to Make Your Sub Love You

2

As teachers we all know the stress of leaving our class with a sub, but what can you do when your three year old throws up in the car on the way to school (yep, that’s happened twice) or your eight year old comes home with poison ivy all over his face looking like Quasimodo?


In times like these, I thank God for wonderful subs who are willing to go into the unknown every day. Because substitute teachers have such a tough job, here are a few tips on how to make your sub love you. I’m serious about this. I have gotten countless compliments over the years from subs about how much they love subbing in my room. I’m not one to brag, but that kind of thing makes me feel so good! So now I pass on my secrets to you…


1. Leave awesome sub plans. This is like an I love you note to your sub letting them know you care. Grab the template I use here. Include information about your procedures and take time to make these detailed so that you can just go back and edit the activities the next time you need a sub. I like to use a different page for each subject so that my sub doesn’t get lost in a word jumble.


2

2. Leave information about technology including trouble shooting, log ins they may need, and what to do if everything falls apart and the technology refuses to  work–we’ve all been there.


3. As you are writing your sub plans, make a list of materials you will need to get out, copies you will need to make, etc. This will keep you from forgetting anything and will save time for your sub.


4. Explain your behavior system. What rewards and consequences should your substitute teacher use? I sometimes leave stickers, and candy so that my sub can reward (or let's be honest bribe) as needed. I do not use concrete rewards or point systems in my classroom, but in emergency cases, I would rather my students be on their best behavior!


5. Give information about health and behavior concerns. You already know your sweet little honeys and can easily adapt to their needs, but your sub doesn’t. Tell your sub what they should do for students if a problem occurs and what to watch out for. This is a key part of my sub plans. I work to make this section detailed, then I don’t have to change it much throughout the year.


3
4
6

6. Set out and label all materials your substitute teacher will need. I like to label each subject’s materials with post it notes then stack these in the order my sub will need them.


7. Have post it notes, pens, pencils, scissors, stapler, and tape out and accessible so that you substitute teacher doesn’t have to search for them.

6

8. Prepare extra activities like additional read alouds, brain breaks, challenge questions, word work activities, and word finds ready in case activities take less time than planned or one of your planned activities doesn’t work out.


9. Be hospitable. Leave out tissues, a bottle of water, some hand lotion, or even a granola bar to make your sub feel welcome and comfortable. We know how stressful teaching can be, and our substitute teachers need a little love from time to time.


10. Leave a map of the building with important locations, staff bathrooms, and vending machines labeled.


11. Ask neighboring teachers to check in on your sub throughout the day. This will make your substitute teacher feel more comfortable and will give him or her a chance to ask questions.


12. Clear off your desk and small group table so that your substitute teacher has space to work and to place their materials. This also makes it less confusing for them trying to determine what they need and what you just left out accidentally.

Do you have any other great tips for preparing for a substitute teacher? Let me know!


-Brandi


Save this pin for later!

3
1

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page